UBER SAN JOSE

Posted on Posted in Uber San Jose

UBER SAN JOSE

A variety of Uber services in the city of San Jose:

1. UberX (a low-cost option which seats up to four passengers. UberX is the most widespread and basic option in Uber’s portfolio of services)2. UberXL (a low-cost ride which seats up to six passengers)

The current rates for Uber San Jose services are as follows:

UberX
Base Fare: $0
Per Minute: $0.10
Per Mile: $0.90
Cancellation Fee: $5
Service Fee: $1.75

UberXL
Base Fare: $2
Per Minute: $0.20
Per Mile: $1.20
Cancellation Fee: $5
Service Fee: $1.75

How to Become an Uber Driver in San Jose

UberX/XL requirements:

  • Driver must be at least 21 years of age
  • Drivers must provide valid CA driver’s license (*official and temporary licenses are both valid in California).
  • Drivers must pass a full state & federal screening
  • Drivers must have an accepted vehicle (check below for additional info)

UberX/XL Vehicle Requirements:

uber signup - Uber San JoseAs a company, Uber doesn’t own or operate any vehicles (all Uber Vehicles are driver-owned or leased). If you want to drive for Uber, you have to use your own private vehicle.

  • Your vehicle must have 4 doors (which open independently).
  • Your vehicle must be from the year 2001 or newer (*15 years or less, counting from the current year.)
  • You must have a clean title (no salvage vehicles are allowed).
  • Your vehicle must be In excellent condition (cosmetically & mechanically).
  • Your vehicle cannot be a former taxi vehicle, or large van.

For UberXL:

  • All of the points listed above apply equally to XL.
  • All XL vehicles must seat the driver AND at least 6 additional passengers

UberX/XL document requirements:

All Uber drivers in San Jose must provide these documents for their Uber account to be officially activated:

  • Valid driver’s license
  • Vehicle Registration
  • Vehicle Insurance (vehicular insurance must list a vehicle & driver’s name directly on the policy document itself)

Driver’s License:

 

Vehicle Registration (Several types are accepted in San Jose, including a temporary registration, which is only valid for 3 months total).

 

 

 

Insurance:

 

Inspection forms:

 

 

Vehicle Inspection:

You can get your vehicle inspected  – for free – in San Jose at the following sites below:

*Note: remember to bring your vehicle, driver’s license, vehicle registration, insurance, and banking info (to set your direct deposit).

*You can fill out an inspection form in advance here (print it off and bring it with you to the inspection site for an expedited inspection process).

Trade Dress:

You must display an Uber logo on your vehicle, or risk a $1000 fine from the State of California. Proper display is illustrated here:

 

You will be given a logo at the activation center — or, alternatively, you can print off an Uber U using this link.